Most historians now subscribe to a series of calendars known as the Elven Conventions, which divide history into three major periods: The Empyrean Times (Pre-OA), the Orodravian Age (OA) and the Age of Godsfall (AG, also commonly known as the Tower Age or Tower Years).  These, in turn, are divided into a number of 'epochs' that are defined by either a great moment in time or something characteristic of the epoch as a whole.  Heated debate rages amongst scholars as to the number, nature, and dates of the various epochs, but the most widely-supported gradiation was produced the elven scholar Mahtrine Luossa in his treatise The Ascendant Epochs, published in AG 1193.

Luossa's demarcation of time is generally free from the cultural biases that taint the majority of proposed systems and reflects a deep comprehension of the underlying causes and effects of major historical events.  His work divides history into the following nine major epochs, with a tenth added after heated debate in AG 1261:

  • The Empyrean Times (Pre-OA): The time before recorded history, when Great Azuri forged Faengleis and created all life before she departed, leaving the modern gods as her stewards.  An era when the world was said to be a thousand times larger than the lands bounded by the High Wall.

  • The Sandstorm War (OA 0): The end of a great war that ravaged old Faengleis, waged by the giants against all other races.  It destroyed most of the records of the world before it and is responsible for the creation of creatures such as ogres, trolls, and titans.  Roughly 3,500 years ago.

  • Dawn of Empire (OA 1 - 717): From the ashes of the Sandstorm War, the mighty Orodravian Empire rose, centered on what is today the Orodravian Heartlands in modern Faengleis.  They conquered widely and were renowned as warriors and scholars.

  • Era of the Emperor Penultimate (OA 718 - 2129): Beginning the year Klad Skathika ascended to the throne of the Orodravian, where he would rule uncontested for more than 1,400 years, bringing the entire world under his heel and humbling even the gods with his majesty.

  • The Namitha Ardrua (OA 2130 - 2167): A period spanning the descent of the Ardrua from the Grim Defile, through the war with the Orodravian and the coming of the Outer Dark, and finally ending with the raising of the High Wall.

  • The Years of Rust and Famine (AG 1 - 93): The hard years following the fall of Emperor Skathika, when the races remaining inside the High Wall scratched a living from the harsh, war-ravaged Heartlands.

  • The Diamond Times (AG 94 - 379): Rampant expansion by every power in the world defines this age of wealth, discovery, and splendor.

  • The High West (AG 380 - 611): Xain's height of glory as the defining power in Faengleis until it was ravaged by the War of Rod and Scepter.

  • An Age of Small Dreams (AG 612 - 1256): With the world settled and most of the modern nations defined, this is the epoch of growing malaise and diminishing ambition.

  • The Blood Times (AG 1257 - Present): Following the disastrous Sunset War, the balance of power has shifted away from the Elven Ascendancy and the Empire of the Sun.  A marked increase in conflict, a decrease in standards of living, and the resurgence of more 'primitive' humanoid powers define this young epoch.

Lunar Year

A year in Faengleis consists of 368 24-hour days divided into 4 seasons of 3 months each.  Each season is the provenence of one of the Four Princesses, the goddess-daughters of Great Azuri who preside over the cycle of spring, summer, autumn, and winter.  The months themselves are divided into a 30-day "dawning," a 32-day "glory," and a 30-day "dusking."  Thus, the year begins on First Spring Dawning and ends on Thirtieth Winter Dusking.

In spite of the disparity in the number of days in sequential months, each never-the-less begins with a new moon, reaches the full moon mid-way through the month, and then ends again with a new moon.  The night between the Fifteenth and Sixteenth in Spring Glory and Autumn Glory are the annual equinoxes, when day and night are of exactly equal length.  That night during Summer Glory brings the solstice known as the Apex, when the sun doesn't set, just barely kissing the horizon, while during Winter Glory it is the Nadir, when the sun just barely fails to rise, though it creates a strong twilight.

As one might expect, the Apex and Nadir are considered the holiest days for Thahtma and Feyoon, respectively, and the prior, at least, is a time of great celebration in most civilized lands, though it is of special significance in the Empire of the Sun.  That has led many to consider the equinoxes holy to the other two Glories, holding Spring as Nurket's time and Autumn as Vakad's.